First post

Hello, and welcome to my blog. This is the first post, and I will write a little about how my current project and this blog got started.

My current project is a terrain engine. I read this blog, and since I wanted something cool and varied to work on, I decided to make my own version. I had a project structure already set up, witch uses OpenGL, SDL and dynamic library loading, so I can change renderer, logic, etc while using the same basic project more or less as a runner. I can even load libraries runtime. πŸ™‚

My girlfriend got me on the idea of blogging about my project. Unfortunately the project was already quite a bit underway before I created this blog. Therefore this first post will be pretty long, and will be somewhat dependent on my memory. I am programming this in C++, using Linux, Eclipse and GCC.

I created a project for the terrain engine, and set it up so I could use it in the runner project. The project uses SDL and OpenGL so it will be as platform independent as possible. The renderer is pretty straight forward, and uses vertex arrays. I set it up to create a flat terrain of triangles. Not very exiting, but a good start. πŸ™‚

Triangles

Triangles

OK. So some height would be good. So I created a height map. Witch is just a 24 bit BMP image. I load this, and use the individual channels to set height of each point in the terrain. Red channel is for big changes, blue for smaller ones, and blue for small bumps in the terrain. And now, it looks like this:

Terrain

Terrain

Much better. πŸ™‚ More to come in the next post.

-Knut πŸ™‚

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

